As if California needs this. You would think that the lack of experience would make someone timid to introduce such a law.
SACRAMENTO, Calif. (BP)–If a Democratic assemblywoman in California has her way, parents in that state could soon be fined or even jailed for spanking their toddlers, a practice Sally Lieber said victimizes helpless children.
Lieber, who does not have children, plans to introduce a bill this week that would make California the first state to make the spanking of children 4 years old and under a misdemeanor punishable by a year in jail or a fine of up to $1,000.
“The only thing a child learns by being beaten is that it’s OK to beat or dominate children or animals that are smaller,” Lieber told the Sacramento Bee. “To my mind, there’s no amount of physical force that’s appropriate on a child 3 years old or younger.”